top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica G. Rushton

Unsubscribe


In this leg of my journey, I am finding that in order for me to fruitfully continue forward I must confront facts and replace them with the truth.

Facts vs. Truth.

Fact- A piece of information used as evidence...

Truth- the quality or state of being True. That which is true in accordance with fact or reality.

If we aren’t careful we can find ourselves confusing Facts and Truth. In my opinion there can be a very thin line. That is unless you are a believer in Christ Jesus and choosing to live your life according to His Kingdom and/or government.

I grew up in a some what traditional sense. My mother raised us in church and I remember early through teenage years we spending time together as a family dissecting the Word of God. Early I had an inclination toward the things of God and wanted so desperately to make sure I got things right. So when my mommy would make statements similar to “If you don’t, God won’t...” or “How can you expect God to do this if you...”. I believed them and used them as a guide for my life. You follow? Though her intentions were not bad as she was following according to her level of perception and understanding, I am finding that today as I expose my heart and it’s corridors to the light of God’s word, these fact like statements have hindered my FAITH in who and what He’s said about Himself and about what He can and will do for me!

In our society, taking responsibility is stressed. Independence is stressed. A “Do You” culture is like wild fire! This is incredibly opposite of the government of Christ. All throughout the Bible you will find the emphasis on Trusting and Relying on a God that we can’t see. Cause and effect and affect becomes the rule of thumb. I did “this” and as a result “this” has occurred. It has to make sense to our logical and analytical minds. I’m guilty!

However, as I am disengaging from factual culture, abandoning what I have learned to make room for what is true, I am discovering liberty and pride. See, God asks us to rely on Him. In a do it yourself, self-motivated culture this is violently against the grain. Technically it isn’t bad, it isn’t wrong. It’s noble even. Yet, I submit to you that it isn’t. It’s a smack in the face to a loving Father. In Proverbs, the book of wisdom, Ch. 16:9 says, “A mans heart plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.”

Proverbs 3:5 says, “Trust in and rely confidently in the Lord with all of your heart, and lean not to YOUR OWN understanding.”

I can go on and on. What am I getting at? I personally have found it difficult to extend my faith in areas where I have struggled to make good decisions. Asking God to move on my behalf after I have made a mistake or bad choice or am just genuinely falling short in honest attempts to do well etc. I look at the FACTS. I did this, and I didn’t do this. I should have done this and instead I did this. Self-involved focus! It negates the Mercy of God and the truth that reminds me that Psalm 16:2 says, “You are MY LORD, apart from you I have no good thing.”

This life is a gift, Christ Jesus came for us and at no request of ourselves. We really don’t have much to do with anything! We receive and respond out of that love! One more scripture?

“Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.”

‭‭Romans‬ ‭12:2‬ ‭NLT‬‬

The word Let means to cause or to make. I’ve read this scripture my whole life and I always read it as if it were my responsibility to get me to where I need to be! Letting God transform me still keeps the control out of my hands. It’s His commitment to us as His chosen people to meet every need!

So you’re probably still saying, “But ain’t I gotta do something...?” Yes dear heart. Embrace that you are not your own, the temptation to trust and be limited by facts, and stand on truth (His Word). He knew your facts and still asks you to have faith and rely on Him, because He does the transforming so that you line up and come into agreement with who He said we are and what HE SAID WE CAN HAVE!

Unsubscribe.


Love you,

Jess 🥰


”You are

ENOUGH. QUALITY. You MEET EVERY EXPECTATION!”

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page