top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJessica G. Rushton

Soul Affinity


Like the Nile River falls into the Mediterranean Sea

I came to See.

The compass guides as exploration commences navigating this vessel about the beauty of your waves

The way the sky mirrors your waters

And the Sun casts light upon your silky smooth face.


Deep.


I cast my bateaux from the larger of the two vessels and hurl my life jacket aside.

Exercising caution should be the motion

Yet I’ve thrown it into the wind

For there’s a melody in its whistle

That beckons me.

Come Closer.


I do because I need to see your soul.

I plunge into your waters

Vulnerable.

Oxygenated for the journey.


I want to see into the depths.

Caress your coral reefs

Tangle in your seaweed

See if the beauty that I imagine you to be

Be, and if there’s a lurking beast

Beneath, is it too scary for me?


Upon the shores

I’ve imagined this moment

Upon the shores I admired and flirted with the force of you

Upon the shores

Where it’s safe

I’ve wondered if I only was infatuated

With an intangible image

And every time I convinced myself within that I was merely trippin

Your melody laced wind would skip across your waves and envelop me

Again.

Settle me like a lullaby

Lay like expensive fabric

Reassure my heart

And calls me Darling

Enough. You make me feel like I’m enough today right now in this moment

For Your song matches Gods lyrics for me...

How did I stumble upon this Soul Affinity?

Pouring into me like the Nile into the Mediterranean Sea...


See.



Written by

Jessica Gabrielle Rushton

2/22/2020

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page